About NAPT

The National Association for Proton Therapy (NAPT) is a non-profit organization established in 1990 to ensure patient access to proton therapy and raise awareness about its clinical benefits.  Backed by decades of science and delivered by proven technology,​ proton therapy is an innovative cancer treatment that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor sparing healthy tissue.  


To work collaboratively to:

  • educate and raise awareness of the clinical benefits of proton therapy among patients, providers, clinicians, payers, policymakers, and other stakeholders,
  • ensure patient choice and access to affordable proton therapy, and
  • encourage cooperative research and innovation to advance the appropriate and cost-effective utilization of proton therapy.

NAPT’s supporting members include 48 of the nation’s leading cancer centers, a number of whom are National Cancer Institute-designated comprehensive cancer centers and National Comprehensive Care Network (NCCN) members.